A Day at the Park

Delayed Posting from 4/19/14

Image

I took the dogs to the lake near our place today, it was a pretty neat experience because I brought my sketching materials along with me and sat on one of the nearby benches. There was so much motion and action everywhere. I felt nervous just trying to capture any of it without people realizing I was drawing them. I think my favorite is the little kids at play on the bottom of the picture below. The second favorite (more for the irony) is the guy sitting on the bank feeding bread to geese, whilst he’s literally about a foot away from a sign that says not to feed the geese. My observation skills really started to make themselves known in the last page I worked on. (Shown at top of post) Little subtle things about people’s behavior stuck out to me. Even though I may not have been able to capture it, it was there and I recognized it. It’s only a matter of time before I’ll be able to illustrate those little details and I can’t wait!

Image


Image

Your Turn: Have you gone out and drawn in a park or other public place? What was your experience? Did you find that you could get much of the pose down or barely any at all? Were you nervous about people catching you drawing them? Share your thoughts in the comments section. 

Leave a Reply

