Broke my Pencil, but not my Spirit.

Image

My sanguine pencil shattered all the way through, I couldn’t even get a portion of it sharpened enough to draw some smudgy outlines. I ended up shaving all of the pencil casing off, throwing it into a cup mashing it into powder and brushing it on with a dry brush. It’s neat to work with, if a bit difficult. Starting off with the dry brush to establish base value was interesting and forced me to think about the overall value map. All told the studies above took 2 hours to get through (aside from the time to mash up the powder. I’ll be getting new sanguine pencils on Thursday, and hopefully I can start working into a rhythm with this media soon. 

Leave a Reply

