A Birthday Present for Andy

Image

Happy Birthday Andy!

Andy is my Brother In-Law (wife’s brother) who loves Marvin the Paranoid Android from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (H2G2). Well… on day 42 of my blog, I drew my own original concept for a version of Marvin that I was pretty proud of and Andy seemed to really like, so I thought I’d revisit the concept with fresh eyes, and see what I could come up with. Now that I’ve been practicing gesture, I started out with gesture roughs (see below) and worked my way toward the final. I wanted to really sell his depression and play up his big head and big feet without making him look “chibi”. I also had great input from my wife, my cousin Keith, my friend Matt, as well as some awesome initial input during the concept phase from fellow artist Gwyneth Wilson. Among all of them, one thought was consistent: I’ve definitely improved in skill over the last 53 days and they were all excited to see the final. Thank you all for your support and input.

Image

Today’s Warm – Ups and Exercises:

  1. 15 minutes of 30 second gesture poses (quickposes.com)
  2. 50 minutes of 60 second gesture poses (quickposes.com)
  3. 35 minutes gesture drawing concepts for Marvin the Paranoid Android

Image

One thought on “A Birthday Present for Andy

Leave a Reply

