Developing my Eye

Image

After watching Alphonso Dunn’s video on how to draw eyes with a pen I went back to work on the Artists.pixelovely face and expression drawing practice tool. I an starting to be able to get the ocular region laid down on paper much faster than my previous 30 minute stints. Each eye grouping that you see here was achieved in 5 minutes or less whilst using a dip pen!

The pen is really starting to become an extension of me as well, I’m noticing that every time I go to draw something now, I go straight for my crow quill pen and don’t think twice about it. Some folks have asked why I’m not using a pencil to block in values and work more in pencil. Well the answer is, I want to limit myself now and force myself to choose cleaner lines to start with so that when I do end up going back to pencils I’ll have a stronger appreciation for what it’s capable of. Also, crow quill pen and ink when done well look really awesome and I like it for the versatile line weights I can achieve. I may not be that clean in my lines yet, but it’s only a matter of time and practice.

Image

Image

Today’s Warm Ups and Exercises:

  1. 10 minutes of 30 second gesture poses
  2. 30 minutes of 60 second gesture poses
  3. Study how to draw an eye with pen with Alphonso Dunn: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHHnFCyU2ns

Image

2 thoughts on “Developing my Eye

  1. This was a really fun thing to stumble across. I really admire your philosophy about the use of pen to build boldness and appreciation. So glad that the new facial expression tool was of use to you! 🙂

    • OMG, Kim. Thanks for stopping by. I really love the site, It’s helped me with gesture drawing and feet as well. I try to always tag artists.pixelovely on any post where I’ve used your tools and I’ve also referred at least 10 other artists to the site that didn’t know of it previously.

      Is there anything else I can do to help get the word out about your site and the tools?

Leave a Reply

