Heading in the Right Direction

Image

I did another live session hangout with the guys on Google Plus today and man was it fun. We had a good time chatting about art while each of us worked on our own projects and for me it was more figure drawing and a splash of dabbling with different pens in my new sketchbook. I used a brush pen for all the initial figure drawing studies and on the page where I switched to brown ink, it’s an old fashioned pen nib from earlier on in my blog when I was learning to work with different drawing tools.

The other thing to note here is this awesome video series from Proko: How to Draw the Head From Any Angle. I seriously learned more about the Loomis Method for drawing heads in 5 minutes than I did in an entire year of figure drawing in college. I’m not sure if it’s the way he logically presents the information or his generally pleasant demeanor, but I am certain that I can now confidently lay down the foundation for the head in almost any angle. Tomorrow I will be tackling learning how to actually add features to the aforementioned foundation of the head.

I love how the lines came out in today’s drawings and believe that I will be doing much more drawing with my pen nibs moving forward. What do you think about the difference between the two pens? Any suggestions on other materials you’d like to see me work with?

One thought on “Heading in the Right Direction

Leave a Reply

