A Gesture a day will Keep the bad Habits Away?

Image

Without being able to do much today, I sat down and cranked out some gestures. I had an idea for a really cool pose that I drew out first in gesture thinking of all the dancers I’d been drawing lately. Then for some silly reason I decided I wanted to see what it looked like as a silhouette. So I filled it all in with black ink. What’s nice about it is, that I see where I made her tummy too big and her back side too round and it turned into a bit of a plus-sized figure. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but that was not the intended clean line look I was going for. However, what I dislike about it is that I now cannot fix this pose unless I redraw it. Well, I’m learning to be more critical of my proportions and spacing that I allow for gestures on my pages of my sketchbook, and I think that’s all that matters for the moment. 

Mind you, I have no idea why photoshop decided to pixelate the crap out of these images, when I used  the exact same file and settings from yesterday. Anyway, I’m looking forward to tomorrow, I will be hanging out with my cousin and having a drawing jam session. We’ll be working on more gestures and then trying to recreate some of our favorite characters after a decent warm up. 

Image

Leave a Reply

