Benchmark Post 60 Days! (Orianna Pt 1)

Image

I have been working a lot lately on just trying to understand gesture.  It’s been really challenging trying to learn and apply gestures to my own art. Today I figured, I’d give it a go and see what I could come up with. Someone asked me to do another character from League of Legends: Orianna. She is an interesting character and her background is this:

There once was a Piltovian man named Corin Reveck who had a daughter named Orianna, whom he loved more than anything else in the world. Though Orianna had incredible talent for dancing, she was deeply fascinated by the champions of the League of Legends. This fascination compelled her to begin training to become such a champion. It is unfortunate that her sheltered, wide-eyed naivete led her to take unnecessary and dangerous chances which ultimately led to her tragic demise. Orianna’s death shattered Corin, driving him into deep depression and an obsession with techmaturgy. He could not stand the void his daughter’s death left in his life, so he decided to build a replacement – one that would complete Orianna’s dream of joining the League. What was created is the clockwork killing machine that Corin named after his daughter. Knowing that she was destined to be a champion and seeing the way the times were changing, he created The Ball as her pet and protector. This nearly symbiotic creation uses a different type of techmaturgy, relying more heavily on electricity than clockwork.

Orianna and The Ball now fight as Champions in the League of Legends, using her sometimes misguided morality as a compass. She tries in earnest to fit in with those around her. However, no matter how hard she tries, Orianna can never be human and there is always something unnerving and alien about her. Though she attempts social interaction with other champions in the League of Legends, there are few who can get past her exotic nature. To many, it’s as if there’s nothing inside, that Orianna is just a soulless clockwork shell – a dangerous and deadly one at that. However, all along she remains the perfect daughter in her father’s eyes.

What really drew me to this is the dancer aspect. Orianna has the potential for some really cool poses implementing gesture. So today I focused on just creating some very rough position concepts completely with no reference. Again this is a benchmark post so I had to see what I could do with the culminated learning over the last 60 days. I will be fleshing the idea out more tomorrow in part 2.  Take a look and give me some good, honest feedback. It’ll only help me improve.

Image

3 thoughts on “Benchmark Post 60 Days! (Orianna Pt 1)

  1. You have really taken off in understanding gesture. That these are from imagination rather than reference shows this as the forms look exaggerated while still retaining a sense of proportion and proper weight, balance. I hope to be where you are soon.

    • Oh, and the top two of the bottom pic are the ones that appeal to me the most. They look dramatic but seem like they’d be good foundations for finished figures.

  2. Thanks man. I still feel like I have quite a way to go, but I am definitely starting to be less afraid of the prospect of imagining my own character scenes. I always used to have to rely on reference poses first or trying to cop ideas off of other people’s pieces. Though I’m not proficient with the use of gesture yet, it at least makes a lot of sense to me now where the concept was totally alien previously.

Leave a Reply

