Kirby Working Out… Because… well why not?

Image

I spent most of the day doing studies for the 100day anatomy challenge over on Conceptart.org but half way through the day I began having conversations about art with my cousin. After I was done my 3 hour gesture and torso study, I knew I needed to do something fun for the art a day, but I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do. My cousin said: “Draw Kirby doing jumping jacks wearing a headband.” I chuckled at first but his next statement sold me on the idea. I asked him what made him think of that idea and this was his response:

“He’s geometrically simple and it should be a slight challenge trying to convey the action given his very short appendages. His shape lends itself to a basic value study using your imagination and what you’ve learned through still life’s.” 

 “Plus, it should make for a quick drawing a day”

So, I took him up on the offer and as such, here’s Kirby, doing jumping jacks, and wearing a headband. It also is apparently Kirby’s 20th Birthday and I played the heck out of that game growing up. 😉

This is a 1.5 hour concept with just an initial color pass. 

 
Leave a Reply

