Lighting the Way

Image

 

Assignment 1-X from The Complete Famous Artist Course: Graphite (HB, 2B, 4B)

Today’s project from the course was given as a blank plate. Again, they (the instructors of the book course) wanted me to use their plate and simply draw on top of it. I opted to redraw the entire thing so that it would be more challenging and so I can begin to understand the entire process. I had to come up with my own lighting and texture ideas and was encouraged to look back at the previous two projects for inspiration. As I was shading this piece I found myself considering the form of each object and truly trying to figure out how the light would interact with each other object in the scene.  I wasn’t sure how to handle the clouds, but I imagine that will become something that I learn as I render more. Also, I don’t feel this piece is as contrast heavy as the last two pieces but I think it conveys a sense of a an open, airy lighting, rather than a direct and dramatic lighting scheme. I could be wrong, but that’s how it feels. Below is all I was given: 

ImagePlate 1-x from “The Complete Famous Artist Course”

 
Leave a Reply

