You Learn by Drawing

ImageStudy from an unnamed illustration in The Complete Famous Artist Course. Graphite: HB, 2B, 4B, 6B

“You Learn by Drawing” This is a frequent expression in The Complete Famous Artist Course. Today, I was officially introduced to my drawing utensils. It’s odd, but I never really sat down and learned what the pencil grades were and how to use them effectively. In book one of the course, the pencils are broken down and it’s suggested that you experiment to discover the different strokes and effects you can achieve with soft pencils, hard pencils, and medium pencils respectively. So I did just that. I gathered all of the drawing supplies that my wife and I had lying around the house and made myself a drawing kit, then dabbled around with each one to learn what they do. It was eye opening to say the least. After I had a pretty good idea of my equipment and how to use it, I moved on to the section where it describes how a pencil drawing is created step by step and while it was just a demonstration and not meant to be replicated, I figured I’d give it a go. My rocks didn’t quite come out as well as theirs but I expect that’ll be something that I’ll be able to develop the ability to render moving forward with practice. 

 ImageOriginal photo of the sample illustration from the book. 

 
2 thoughts on “You Learn by Drawing

  1. This is my favorite work of what you have done thus far. I think it is an excellent “first” step and you are going to be excited moving forward because of pieces like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

