Shaping up or Shipping Out.

ImagePencil on Drawing Paper: HB, 2B 4B, 6B

A little while ago when I began this endeavor, Mike Dumas, a frequent member of the Conceptart.org Hangout and one of the moderators on the Conceptart.org website, recommended that I go and gather primitive shape objects and draw them in order to start understanding forms better. Originally we went to Michaels and were shocked at just how much they were charging for solid foam forms then, my wife and I went to Target and found a plethora of forms in the Christmas closeout section for a fraction of the cost; I also just so happened to already have a drawing mannequin. So I created this still life next to my desk and worked on it all day. No it did not take me all day to shade. Half of the day was spent in frustration trying to figure out how to accurately depict what I was looking at through the use of perspective. I must have drawn the skeleton of this setup at least 5 or 6 times before finally getting this one. I could have, and almost did, take easy way out and rearranged the setup without all the perspective issues, or just drawn something else and given up, but I really wanted to push myself. I’m pretty happy with the results. Sadly, the camera washed out a bit of the middle of the picture, but I think you get the point of what I was doing here.

What do you guys think: Too much to start off with? Not enough variation? Share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

