Are You My Mummy? (pt2)

Image

Transitioning to digital painting is a task for sure. I get tripped up on brush opacity and that silly little fundamental of forms. Trying to convey light and shadow to demonstrate form is a difficult task for me currently. I’ve spent so much of my career relying on line work to make art and I see why this is such an important fundamental now. This is my progress as of today. I worked on it from 12pm until 6pm and had a great time learning from the guys in the ConceptArt.org hangout. 

Some improvements have been made to this piece from yesterday. His right eye has been diminished in size and his left eye was brought up and placed into a more proper (albeit not correct) perspective. I cleaned up his nose and realized that Amumu’s mouth is actually covered by bandages so I added those as well. You can see that the head is almost entirely devoid of outline and the core shadow is now what is displaying the form of his head instead. I will be systematically removing and painting all the lines away. leaving just a value study of the intended final piece. 

I have switched to just black and white so that I can practice my ability to build values and let that help determine the final outcome of the piece. Stay tuned to see how it turns out! Thank you to all who are following and I encourage you all to chime in with helpful hints or tips, or if you have questions about how you can get started in art. I’d love to help point you in the right direction. 

 
Leave a Reply

