Are You My Mummy? (pt 1)

Image
Amumu is a character from the League of Legends video game that my friends and I play. He also happens to be one of my favorite Champions to play. So today the goal was to see what my practice over the last 23 days could yield. I have been really focusing on lighting, form, and freehand illustration as well as all of the rest of the fundamentals of art. Below, you can see the steps that I’ve taken to get to this point. (this was all done today about 4hrs of work thus far)

1) Graphite Sketch: using free form ellipses and basic shapes. I wasn’t worried about details or effects. Here, I’m more interested in just capturing the pose and the basic layout of the bandages.

Image2) Digital line work using Photoshop and digital tablet. I tried to vary line weights a bit so that it would be more than just a flat looking line trace. By this point, I was considering the layering of the bandages and making them look a little more ragged.
Image3. Basic Digital Color. For this I was just concerned with getting the basic lighting and adding a few more details to play up Amumu’s sad state of mind. In the next few hours and moving forward I will make it look less like a graphic and more like a digital painting.

Image

Leave a Reply

