It Takes a Village

Image

Typically that phrasing “It Takes a Village” is meant for child rearing. However, I’m really starting to realize that it’s certainly applicable in my journey to build my creativity and skill. I try too hard. I want to paint so technically accurate that I forget to be loose and just enjoy creating. I have a strong village, or group of friends and mentors and they are all constantly sharing ideas for growth with me. Lately, this has been the theme: “Lance, you’re trying too hard. Just create art because you love art. You might surprise yourself.”

Who’s in your village? If you don’t have one, maybe it’s time to start the gathering people that will help empower you to create at your full potential. What are some things you’d like to see me try to tackle here on the blog? Share your ideas below.

Leave a Reply

