The Orc in the Room

Image
I have been avoiding this project like the plague ever since it was given to me back in September. The reason? Well, I didn’t feel competent enough to deliver my idea the way I’d intended. I’ve been working on this project off and on for about 5 months now, and figured I’d hit it again armed with new knowledge about lighting and form shading. It is still a work in progress but I am way happier with how it is finally starting to take shape. 

This is what it had looked like before I was told politely that my piece looked flat and lacked drama:

Image

 
3 thoughts on “The Orc in the Room

  1. TONS of improvement. The color works so much better/ You really tightened up the palette and it did a lot for making the piece more cohesive. Also, YEAH, LIGHT SOURCE. The warmth of it and the way it models the flesh– you did a fantastic job.

  2. I made such a kick butt and munchy character in D&D, that I could totally have poned this orc all by myself,lol. The difference between the first and the second are astounding! This is so interesting to see what all an artist goes through and the journey they take, to see the steps along the way. 🙂

  3. This made be smile as soon as I saw it. I like the concept, and I can definitely see much improvement from the 1st to the 2nd version.

Leave a Reply

