The Eternal Offering

The Eternal Offering

Art A Day Post #2

Digital Painting – Photoshop
Time: Approx. 4 Hours

Since I struggle with lighting I figured this would be a good exercise. I had no clue what I was going to paint before I sat down and just started blocking out areas. Before I knew it I had these two hooded figures and the one seemed to have been kneeling. So I let the story develop in my brain and Really tried to capture the ominous feeling by letting the light from the orb be the dominant light source. I tried to bring a little moonlight in through the window as a secondary source.

 
5 thoughts on “The Eternal Offering

  1. Looks good, I like the energy you put into the orb. Though, personally, I could use some more context. We don’t know what the relationship between the two is, other than that one kneels to the other and seemingly dazzles them with their magic.

    In this situation I think unfortunately we don’t have enough to go off of to let our minds wander. Give just enough but not too much so that we can explore the art in our minds. A bit more background, lighting, actually showing the night air and lands outside this dwelling could help to at least hint at things.

  2. Good. But notice the cyan light and how it only seems to affect the right figure. the severity of the light source will affect everything equally.

  3. Yeti – Thanks for the input, I’ll keep those points in mind for subsequent pieces.

    Laz, I see what you mean. I’ll try to pay more attention to the total effect of a light source moving forward.

Leave a Reply

